Skip to content.Skip to navigation


Short overview on federal and cantonal authorities as well as the political organisation.
Image of the government building
Image caption:

Switzerland is a multi-ethnic, multi-lingual and multi-confessional nation shaped by the will of its people. It has been a federal state since 1848. Switzerland has a federal structure with three different political levels: the Confederation, the cantons and the municipalities.

hidden placeholder



Kontaktstelle Wirtschaft Phone +41 41 728 55 04